ISQ annual conference 2007 was held on 24th December 2007 at Hotel Crowne Plaza, New Friends Colony, New Delhi. A total of 120 delegates and guests participated in the conference.

Inaugural Address

Dr V Krishnamurthy Chairman ISQ delivered the inaugural address


Chairman Dr V Krishnamurthy gave away the awards as under.

Prof. Shoji Shiba was honoured with Dronacharya Award for year 2007 for having made significant contribution to the Indian society through his work of teaching and counseling in the field of Quality Management with humility, dignity, respect for others and a sense of service.

Dr. Surinder Kapur CMD Sona Koyo Steering Systems Limited was awarded Jamsetji Tata Award for year 2007 for having made outstanding contribution in the field of Quality Management.

Dr. N. Ravichandran, President (Operations) Lucas-TVS was awarded with Ashoka Award for year 2007 for outstanding practices in the field of Quality Management.

Presentations made by  Dr Surinder Kapur and Dr N Ravichandran can be accessed at ISQ website under the link “ISQ Annual Conference 2007” and sublnk “Presentations” Photographs  can be viewed under the link “Gallery” on the ISQ website


Programme of the conference was as under.

0800 - 0900 Registration
0900 –  0910 Lighting of lamp & welcome speech by  Mr. N Ramanathan
0910 –  0925 Chairman Address by Dr V Krishnamurthy
0925 - 0945 Citations and Award Presentation
0945 –  1000 Introduction to INQ
1000 - 1030 Presentation by Prof Shoji Shiba
1030 - 1100 Presentation by Dr Surinder Kapur
1100 - 1130 Tea break
1130 - 1200 Presentation by Dr N Ravichandran
1200 - 1255 First In-depth Case Study by UCAL
1255 - 1345 Lunch
1345 - 1440 Second In-depth Case Study by SRF
1440 - 1535 Third In-depth Case Study by Tata Motors
1535 - 1600 Tea break
1600 –  1650 Forth In-depth Case Study by Yuken India
1650 –  1655 Closing remarks by Mr. A. K. Jain
1655 –  1700 Vote of thanks by Mr. N. Ramanathan

Introduction to INQ

Mr. N. Ramanathan President ISQ made a detailed presentation on Indian Network for Quality (INQ)

In-depth Case Study Presentations

Four in-depth case study presentations were made as under

  • UCAL “Paradigm Shift in New Product Development approach” by Mr. Ram Mohan and Mr. R. Senthil Kumar.
  • SRF “Application of Advanced tools in New Product Development” by Mr. J. Ravikant and Prof: G. L. Keshav Bhat
  • Tata Motors “TATA ACE “ by Mr. Nikhil Suresh Deshpande and Mr. Agarwal.
  • Yuken India Limited “Solenoid Controlled Direction Control Valve” by Mr. P. S. Ravi

Technical sessions were chaired by Mr. Kiran Deshmukh of Sona Koyo, Mr. Inderjit Singh of Escotrs and Mr. C. P. Singh of BHEL


The event was sponsored by   

  • Bharati Airtel Limited
  • Maruti Suzuki India Limited
  • NHPC Limited
  • NTPC Limited
  • Sona Koyo Steering Systems Limited
  • SRF Limited

Organizing Committee

Organizing committee consisted of the following  

  • Mr. A. K. Jain Chiarman
  • Mr J Ravikant
  • Mr. Arun K Malik
  • Mr. R. B. Madekhar
  • Brig. J. K. Bajaj
  • Mr George Yohannan

Closing Remarks &Vote of Thanks

Conference ended with closing remarks by Mr AK Jain and a vote of thanks to the awardees, speakers, guests, delegates, sponsors, hotel management and organizing committee by Mr N Ramanathan


Dronacharya Award Jamsetji Tata Award Ashoka Award
Winner for Year 2007

Prof. Shoji Shiba
Winner for Year 2007

Dr. Surinder Kapur
Winner for Year 2007

Dr. N. Ravichandran


Title Author Organization
Our Journey towards World Class Enterprise Dr. N Ravichandran Lucas-TVS Limited.
Entrepreneurship to Corporate Leadership Dr. Surinder Kapur Sona Koyo Steering Systems Limited.